1 Month In, Starting to Feel at Home

D.C. has been my home for one exciting, emotional, enlightening month. So far, I’ve seen and reported from inside the Capitol, visited the Newseum, White House, Arlington National Cemetery and the Lincoln, FDR, Martin Luther King Jr., World War II and Jefferson memorials. I’ve also tried Georgetown Cupcakes (a.k.a. DC Cupcakes) and need to go back for more.

Martin Luther King Memorial

People asked me why I flew here a week before my internship and now I realize it wasn’t early enough. How do tourists visit all the monuments/museums in such a short period of time? I’ve had a month and I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Before I leave, I’m determined to hit up the many Smithsonian museums, the National Archives, Madame Tussaud’s wax museum (to take pictures with the wax presidents) and the Newseum at least one more time.

On a slightly less touristy note, I’ve made major improvements since arriving in the city. I turned 21, which means I can finally join other journalists at happy hour. I can recite many of the stops on several Metro lines, I’m not being a nuisance on Metro escalators and I’ve already been asked for directions, which clearly means I’m starting to look like less of a tourist and more of a local. Success! My next goal is to be able to read the newspaper while standing in a moving train. I’ll keep you updated.

Broncos fans at Penn Quarter Sports Tavern give a Mile High Salute. Source: Ron Campbell

But, by far the most exciting discovery I made (with a friend’s brilliant Googling skills) was finding my people at a local bar. By which I mean that I found Broncos fans who are crazier than me. We may have lost in the last minutes against the Titans, but I’ve never had more fun losing.

Leave a Reply

